Friday 2 August 2019

Minor Pieces - Rothko

Ian William Craig and Missy Donaldson collaborate under the name Minor Pieces. Their debut single “Rothko” from their upcoming album The Heavy Steps of Dreaming is out now.  Speaking to Brooklyn Vegan, Donaldson describes a difficult writing process: “Our creative processes are markedly dissimilar. So there were times when we could’ve just walked away, seeing as sitting in the difficulty of learning and changing was uncomfortable, but as we grew to know each other, we identified that we were shifting through major barriers that were previously programmed.” 

This single leaves no doubt that beautiful music grew from that initial interpersonal creative tension. “Rothko” opens with Donald’s gorgeous, hymnal vocals, layered into a choir. For much of the song the main instrumental is a sparse acoustic guitar, but eventually, as intensity builds, the guitar gives was to stormy distortion, tape manipulation, ambient synths... Donaldson’s soars above it all, firm and defiant, and she has the final word. 

With track names like "Grace" and "Tender Fire", I am imagining the rest of the album maintaining a similar tone, and that is just fine by me. The album is out October 4, via Fat Cat Records.

No comments:

Post a Comment